The One and Only LAFFFYYY TAFFFFYYY

“To pee or not to pee, that is the question,” says the sign posted above the portrait of William Shakespeare. You might wonder what kind of crazy place this may be. Well, the answer lies in room A203B, the humble abode of Miss Lafferty and the room in which the scent of apple cinnamon pervades the air. Miss Rebecca Lafferty is a new high school English language teacher for Juniors and Freshmen who has brought to us not only new and exciting perspectives of the glory of the English language, but also a burst of energy and spirit to every school sporting event. I was given the great opportunity to interview Miss Lafferty this week.

Knightly News:How has your first year as a teacher in ICS been going?

Lafferty: My first year as a teacher at ICS has been going pretty well, I would say. It has been a HUGE learning curve for me as it is my first year of teaching. However, I have lots of experienced teachers around that are more than willing to help me. I’m so thankful for their input as I figure out how to teach effectively and to engage students. I also have really awesome students that make teaching enjoyable! I seriously love my job and I pretty much feel like I’m living my dream.

Knightly News:  What are some fond memories as ICS as a student you find similar to what students experience today?

 Lafferty: One fond memory is of ICS are athletic events. In high school, my heart pumped blue and gold (the then-school colors) and I went to every basketball game and cheered obnoxiously. I even had a reputation at other schools for being super loud. Oops. Another thing that I loved in high school were the annual Lock-Ins. Staying up all night with my best friends at school, for some reason, was just the coolest. I’m happy to see that the Knight Nation athletic events have continued to grow and expand–how cool to get to experience the inaugural season of Men’s Volleyball, for example! I think it is so cool how our athletics program has grown to cater to many different interests and I love seeing my students play sports that they love and about which they are passionate. I was also glad that all of y’all got to experience a Lock-in. Now, as a teacher, I have to say I didn’t have as much fun at the Lock-In as I remember having in high school. But, clearly, I’m old and crotchety now. 😉
3) How did you decide to become an English teacher? Have you always wanted to be a teacher?
Lafferty:  Ever since I was in the first grade, I wanted to be a teacher. When I graduated high school, I planned to be a Secondary Education English major. This is largely due to the amazing English teachers I had at ICS (Shout-out to Mrs. Butron and Mrs. Lehman…who was Ms. Stevens when I had her). However, once I got to college, all of that sort of shifted. My sophomore year, I dropped the Ed major and stayed a plain, ol’ English major. I was much happier. My junior year I started planning where I would go to grad school to get a major in counseling. However, during the summer between my junior and senior years of college, I was contacted by ICS and that changed everything! You see, when I thought I wanted to go into education it was because I wanted to teach at a school just like ICS. When I got back to the US and started observing public school classrooms, I became very disillusioned with the American education system (ALL ABOUT STANDARDIZED TESTING, NOT ABOUT CREATING LIFE-LONG LEARNERS). I’m so glad that Mr. Kennedy, Miss Cantrell, and Mr. Ditzenberger contacted me about teaching at ICS because now I get to do something I LOVE!
4)What are your hobbies?
Lafferty: I ought to say that my hobbies include reading and discussing literature 24/7, but the truth is that I watch ENTIRELY too much TV. I am obsessed with television–especially television that makes me laugh (Brooklyn 99, Parks and Rec, The Mindy Project, The Office, Gilmore Girls, Psych, How I Met Your Mother, to name a few). However, I also really do love to read and write poetry. I enjoy sitting in coffee shops and doing those things. I love to laugh more than anything and so hanging out with my hilarious friends clearly classifies as a hobby. Also, singing.
5) What is your absolute favourite book of all time?
Lafferty:  Asking an English teacher their “absolute favorite book of all-time” is an unanswerable question. How does one even answer that?? So I will give you a handful that I love: The Great Gatsby by F.Scott Fitzgerald (although I like Fitzgerald’s short stories better than his novels), The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath, The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (I relate to Elizabeth Bennet on like, a spiritual level), Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller, Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling, Skin by Ted Dekker, and any short story by Alice Munro. Also, so many more that I can’t think of right now. I really like books.

We have also asked two of her Junior students to tell us more about having Miss Lafferty as a teacher in American Literature class.

Knightly News: Tell us about English class with Miss Lafferty. 

Student: We have lectures on grammar, the history of the novel. We also have discussions regarding the novel.I enjoy this and I benefit from this because I have the opportunity to listen to other people’s opinions.

Knightly News: How do you find the new syllabus for English and what are your views on how your teacher incorporates it into lessons?

The new syllabus for English is practical I think because it’s a way that it can help both benefit us, the students and her as the teacher. It’s very simple and nothing too deep is talked about unless there’s a Socratic session.
Miss Lafferty is dear teacher, loved by all. Personally, there isn’t a day I don’t smile in her class.
Shout out to OUR DEAR DEAR DEER TEACHER! We love you!

Leave a Reply

